Travis H.D. Lewin Advocacy Honor Society

The Travis H.D. Lewin Advocacy Honor Society (AHS) is comprised of a select group of second- and third-year law students, representing the best oral advocates at the College of Law.

AHS is named after legendary founder long-time advocacy coach and mentor, Professor Emeritus Travis H.D. Lewin. He was a pioneering educator who has made a profound impact on the College and on the lives and careers of its students, most notably in courtrooms nationwide.

Through AHS, students develop critical written and oral advocacy skills in appellate, dispute resolution, and mock trial settings. AHS hosts intra-collegiate competitions open to Syracuse Law students throughout the academic year. In addition, AHS certifies and sponsors many inter-collegiate advocate teams that participate in several competitions across the country throughout the year.

Intracollegiate Competitions Intercollegiate Competitions

Membership Selection Process

AHS is made up of four divisions:

  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Division
  • Appellate Division
  • Trial Division
  • Virtual Advocacy Division (VAD)

To join AHS, an individual must be granted membership to at least one of these divisions, each of which has its own tryout process and membership requirements. Grade-eligible students can try out for as many AHS divisions as they would like. Tryouts for the JDr ADR, Appellate, and Trial Divisions are held annually each spring semester. Tryouts for the Virtual Advocacy Division are held annually each fall semester.

Syracuse Law students may also receive Honorary AHS Membership through participation in our annual intra-collegiate competitions.

Please contact the AHS Executive Director for further information about the membership selection process.

2023-24 Executive Board

Executive Director

Daniel Peraza

ADR Division Director

Harrison Gregoire

Appellate Division Director

Maheen Asim

Trial Division Director

Andrew Umanzor

Virtual Advocacy Division (VAD) Director

Melissa Palzewicz

Communications Director

Bonnie Cheng

Community Engagement Director

Evan Groder

Bond, Schoeneck & King ADR Competition Director

Tim Ninnemann

Entertainment and Sports Law Negotiation Competition Director

Brendan Fratis

Mackenzie Hughes, LLP Edmund H. Lewis Appellate Advocacy Competition Director

Alexander Shaw

Lionel O. Grossman Competition Director

Mahogani Counts

Hancock Estabrook LLP 1L Oral Advocacy Competition Director

Shannon Chamberlain