In Memoriam

Rosemary S. Pooler headshot

Hon. Rosemary S . Pooler, June 21, 1938 – August 10, 2023

We are saddened by the loss of the Hon. Rosemary S. Pooler, a senior judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. Her passion for and impact on the College of Law was boundless.

She was a frequent advocacy competition judge; hired our graduates as clerks; served as an honorary member of our Board of Advisors; taught as a Visiting Professor; participated in panel discussions, including the SCOTUS Preview, and gave her time and knowledge to many more speaking and networking events over the years.

She truly was a trailblazer, becoming the first woman elected to the state Supreme Court’s fifth judicial district and the first woman appointed to serve as a U.S. district judge in the Northern District of New York in 1994.

Join us in remembrance: explore the In Memoriam list and honor the memories of our departed alumni who passed between July 1, 2022— June 30, 2023.

Robert J. Gang Jr. 1942

Michael A. Brumer 1951
Benjamin J. Bucko 1953
Brent K. Wood 1955
Frank P. Della Posta 1955
Domenic R. Urciuoli 1955
Andrew V. Siracuse 1956
Philip W. Schunk 1957
Carl DelBuono 1957
Richard M. Randall 1958
Thomas A. Vitanza 1958
Merle D. Melvin 1959

A. Matthew Gordon 1960
Warren S. Agatston 1961
Emanuel J. Neri 1962
Charles E. Raffe 1962
Herbert J. Nenno 1962
Edward H. Cole 1962
Rosemary E. Bucci 1964
Robert D. Ventre 1964
Carl S. Strass 1964
Anthony P. LaFay 1966
Peter S. Palewski 1968
Bernard J. Mahoney 1969
Robert J. Rossi 1969

Norman A. Mordue 1971
Frederick G. Tobin 1972
James A. Arpante Jr. 1972
Robert P. Rothman 1972
Bruce C. Smyk 1973
Lawrence W. Lipman 1973
James F. Kehoe 1975
Joan R. Pannell 1976
H. Christopher Clark 1976
Robert T. Aulgur Jr. 1976
Arne J. Youngerman III 1978
John J. DeLaney Jr. 1979
Robert A. Taylor Jr. 1979

Jane B. Wolfe 1980
Gordon P. Allen 1982
Jeffrey A. Nadell 1983
Joel L. Lennen 1983
Mitchell W. Bernasconi 1986
Sandra J. Garufy 1988
Jane B. Wolfe 1980

Harold H. Litteer Jr. 1990
Marc A. Raso 1993

Charles E. Pettit Jr. 2001
Rosanna Kelly 2005
Raquel B. Stilwell 2008